Catcher’s interference

Catcher’s interference occurs whenever a catcher blocks a batter’s opportunity to swing at a pitch, usually by accident.

This can happen when a catcher’s glove tips a batter’s bat or when any part of his body prevents the batter from taking a normal swing.

In order for catcher’s interference to be enforced, the batter must be in a reasonable position, with both feet inside the batter’s box.

What Happens After Catcher’s Interference?

If a play follows the interference, the umpire will allow the play to continue. The offended team’s manager can choose to decline the interference and accept the result of the play, in which case the play stands without reference to the interference.

If the interference is accepted, the batter is awarded first base and any baserunner’s may advance a base.

The offending catcher is charged with an error however the batter is not considered to have reached on an error, and is not charged with a time at bat. Catcher’s interference is considered a delayed dead ball situation, much like a balk.