Indirect free kick
Awarded against a player if a certain type of foul or infringement has taken place. In contrast to a direct free-kick, the player who takes the kick must pass the ball to another member of his team for the kick to be deemed legal.
How is an Indirect free-kick won in Soccer?
Just like a direct free-kick, there are certain reasons why a referee will award an indirect free-kick. These can include:
- A player committing a verbal offense (e.g. abusive language)
- A player stops a goalkeeper from releasing the ball.
- A player blocking or kicking the ball as a set piece is ready to be taken.
Some rules can apply only to goalkeepers:
- If a goalkeeper holds on to the ball for longer than 6 seconds the referee will give a warning. However, if it continues throughout the match an indirect free-kick may be awarded and a caution given to the goalkeeper for time-wasting.
- If the goalkeeper makes contact with the ball using their hand after a back pass from a teammate.
Once the referee decides to award an indirect free-kick they will stop play and raise their arm into the air and show the offensive team where to place the ball.