Rugby League

First played in 1895, Rugby League differs from Rugby Union in several ways. The most obvious is that each team consists of 13 players, scrums are formed of six players on each side, and if a player is tackled he keeps possession after getting up. As in Rugby Union the aim of the game is for each team to score as many points as possible by touching down the ball over the opponent’s goal line (called a try) or by kicking the ball between the posts. Players can carry, throw or kick the ball, and the team with the highest score at the end of the game wins the match.