Sacrifice fly

A sacrifice fly is the term given to when a hitter enables a baserunner to advance to the next base and score by purposefully hitting a fly ball out to the outfield or foul territory on the field.

When is a Ball Considered To Be a Sacrifice Fly?

A ball is considered a sacrifice fly when it meets the following criteria:

  • There are less than two outs at the time that the ball was hit
  • The ball is hit into the outfield
  • The hitter is put out due to an outfielder or infielder catching the ball while running in the outfield
  • A runner who is on base already makes a score in the play

Does a Sacrifice Fly Count Against a Player’s Batting Average?

A sacrifice fly doesn’t count against players’ batting averages as it doesn’t count as an at bat. This rule is justified by the logic that if there is a player on third base with less than two outs, hitters will often hit fly balls purposefully in order to sacrifice their time at bat and help their team to score a run. Sacrifice flies do however count towards players’ on-base percentages.