What is a Double in Baseball?

A double is credited to a hitter when they successfully hit the ball into play and manage to reach second base safely without an intervening error or an attempt by the defensive team to put out another runner occurring. If any defensive errors do occur during the play, the play will be scored differently. Doubles are also known as ‘two-base hits’.

Where Are Doubles Hit?

Hitters tend to hit doubles either into a gap, down the field lines, or off of the outfield wall.

How Can an Error Negate a Double in baseball?

An error can negate a double in baseball in two scenarios: if the fielder makes an error that allows the batter to reach second base safely, or if the fielder makes an error that allows the batter to reach third base safely but all other runners on base are put out.

In either of these situations, no double will be recorded; instead, it will be counted as an error and no hit or statistic will be given to the batting team.

What Does a Stand-up Double Mean?

A stand-up double is a play in baseball where the batter hits the ball and then advances two bases, while not being tagged out. This is different from a single (where the batter advances one base) or a home run (where the batter scores a run).

A stand-up double is considered a very valuable hit since it requires the batter to have good bat control and accuracy in order to place the ball into the right gap. In addition, the runner usually has plenty of time to reach second base before the defense can make a play.

What if the Bat Hits the Ball Twice?

The umpire’s decision will determine the outcome of a double hit in baseball. If it is determined that the batter deliberately made two contacts with the ball, they will be called out. On the other hand, if it was an unintentional act, then the play can be labeled as a foul, a dead ball, or an out.